Friday, 19 June 2020

Post Comment Love 19th - 21st June 2020 Rejoining the new world.

Last week I moved my mum in with me.

Those of you who know me will think I'm absolutely mad and I probably am. She does read my blog so play nice people.

Anyway she lives in South Wales in a first floor flat, there is some outdoor space, but she's found every time she goes out with her chair, book and a coffee too many people come and join her and the lack of social distancing makes her uncomfortable, so she ends up going back inside or taking a short walk around the block.

Mum misses her garden, but even more so now during lockdown as she can't just wander around town or pop in to see my niece and her great grandchildren.

Lockdown restrictions may be being lifted, but it'll be a long time before we have the freedom to travel again, let alone just spend time with family. My husband and I know the reality is it will be September at the earliest before we can see each other again and with lockdown being tighter in South Wales, I've persuaded my mum to come and stay with me for the foreseeable future. If it doesn't work out, we can go back to two separate households and she will be isolating anyway if she returns too soon.

I've been doing her shopping online and sending weekly treats through the post, but if I'm honest, I'd like a bit of company also. People on their own who aren't in the vulnerable category are just judged to be lucky not to have work and kids to juggle, but we do have our own set of issues which are just as important and real to us. I'm looking forward to someone else doing the washing up and making me a cup of tea.

Although clothes shops and none essential businesses are slowly reopening, there's still social distancing to be observed which I've noticed is lacking now in a lot of places, people can just be so impatient. I live in a lovely part of the UK with the Malvern Hills on my doorstep (as in takes 45 minutes from front door to top of hills on foot). Mum can join me for dog walks, I can drive up and she can read/picnic in the car, she can walk to the local bank and corner store and eventually I can take her to the supermarkets and visit some of the family in their gardens. She's not had to experience how much the world has changed and the adaptations she'll have to make to settle back in to the new one.

After all the virus hasn't gone away.

Stephanie and I would love to hear what you've been up to this week.




You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!
Click here to enter





PoCoLo

Want to find out more about Post Comment Love #PoCoLo? 

No comments:

Post a comment

ShareThis